Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2007, 17:52   #1 (permalink)
BlueFusionX

What is a good price to charge?

Hello everyone.

I am justing out in developing projects for clients, although I have been using HTML for 4 years and PHP and CSS for about 2 for personal projects. I am amost done with my first project which has taken me three weeks to make. The only problem is that I put nearly 120 hours in it, and the bid I put on it was $100, which was the maximum he would accept.

** Before entering this address, please understand that there is no SSL (the certificate is for his hosting, not my server) and in IE there is a few rendering problems with the navigation height and the borders on the top navigation. Thank you.
projects.bluefusionx.com/wsagames

The site I've been using to get clients has been getafreelancer.com. The problem with this is that the price some people post are way too low for the work involed with making these websites. I mean I work at Kroger as a side job and I make in two days what this 3-4 week project will pay. So my question is this: How much is too much to charge, and what is a good price to charge at my level? I've seen websites where a blog costs a few thousand dollars to create, while here I am designing a game rental website complete with use login and payment API functions for two days at a grocery store. As soon as I obtain good pricing knowledge, I'll include this in my portfolio and mark it as discounted for first project.

Thanks for your help,
Sam

Last edited by BlueFusionX : 13-05-2007 at 17:11.
Old 12-05-2007, 19:44   #2 (permalink)
pgo

Uh...does he actually think anyone's going to turst that site?

I wouldn't trust that site at all - it doesn't look or feel like it was built by a professional, therefore I wouldn't even begin to consider thinking about giving out my credit card details. It's not even going over SSL!!!