Reply LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27-03-2007, 13:57   #1 (permalink)
nate22
Registered User
 
nate22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 86
Someone stole my site - where can I post it to embarrass them?

Someone stole our site including ALL the portfolio artwork. Ridiculous! The site itself isn't very standards compliant and other reasons... but I guess whoever stole the site must be somewhere in the mid-CSS learning range, too...

See for yourself:

OURS: 22 GRAPHICS

STOLEN: PS PRINT & DESIGN | ONLINE PORTFOLIO

So, the boss called 'em up and they are in California, not Ontario as it is listed on their site.

Not sure how to go about forcing them to stop, so I would like to post it to as many "site theft" websites as possible.

Last edited by nate22 : 02-04-2007 at 14:11.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 14:00   #2 (permalink)
sub
Shitcasket™
 
sub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,860
Send a message via MSN to sub Send a message via Skype™ to sub
Contact their hosting provider.
That should at least get the site taken down - worked for me.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 14:03   #3 (permalink)
oli
Low flying star™
 
oli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, England.™
Posts: 10,018
Send a message via ICQ to oli Send a message via AIM to oli Send a message via Yahoo to oli
__________________
Linked In :: Last.fm :: Twitter me
..................
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 14:15   #4 (permalink)
nate22
Registered User
 
nate22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 86
Ah yeah, Pirated Sites is what I was thinking of... wow, looks like that site died?! It was so useful!

Thanks, I reported it to their host-- freakin' BRAVENET! I have a feeling they're a bunch of nobodies just experimenting with code. No real company would host on bravenet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 14:20   #5 (permalink)
oli
Low flying star™
 
oli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, England.™
Posts: 10,018
Send a message via ICQ to oli Send a message via AIM to oli Send a message via Yahoo to oli
File a dmca
__________________
Linked In :: Last.fm :: Twitter me
..................
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 14:27   #6 (permalink)
nate22
Registered User
 
nate22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by oli
File a dmca

I just read up a little on that over at Google... it seems risky if they hire a lawyer to somehow get them "off the hook" that means we'd have to fork over $$ for lawyer's fees. It says there that one company was unsuccessful and had to pay $100,000.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 14:44   #7 (permalink)
Monkey_Business
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 51
Ontario, CA is in California...

I'd say..f-them up by trying to email their actual clients if they don't respond to you..or explain why or if they are just experimenting with something.

The main domain is shakerevents.com. Maybe that'll help piss them off.

Revenge is sweet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 14:49   #8 (permalink)
nate22
Registered User
 
nate22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 86
Wow, I didn't realize there's an Ontario in California! I contacted abuse@bravenet (ha!) and I also just sent an email threatening them with a dmca and pointed him to this website: Digital Millennium Copyright Act
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 14:49   #9 (permalink)
Monkey_Business
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 51
not hard to prove the case. The source code flat out says they copied the site...lol

<!-- Mirrored from 22graphics.com/ by HTTrack Website Copier/3.x [XR&CO'2006], Mon, 12 Mar 2007 21:11:25 GMT -->
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 14:57   #10 (permalink)
nate22
Registered User
 
nate22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 86
Awesome! Thanks! The guy just responded to me "I BAUGHT THE SITE FROM YEW YORK LAST YEAR ITS PAID FOR NEXT 5 YEARS, I WILL E-MAIL YOU THE CONTRACT OK."

:-D

I responded, "I don't know what that means, but it's our website and whoever "sold" it to you has sold you stolen goods.

Just remove the stolen content. Thanks."
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 15:04   #11 (permalink)
Monkey_Business
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 51
Since he's into stolen material..I wonder if it included a rolex with a Gucci bag.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 15:04   #12 (permalink)
nate22
Registered User
 
nate22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 86
well well well, the site is gone.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 15:05   #13 (permalink)
oli
Low flying star™
 
oli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, England.™
Posts: 10,018
Send a message via ICQ to oli Send a message via AIM to oli Send a message via Yahoo to oli
dont worry about filing a dmca - as long as you have the original files and can prove you were the original designer you'll have no problems at all.


edit: Yep they've taken the site down.
All is well again!
__________________
Linked In :: Last.fm :: Twitter me
..................
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2007, 12:23   #14 (permalink)
Dusteh
Sir digby chicken caesar
 
Dusteh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,413
Another cunt busted.
__________________
unconsolidated isoparms
  Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Contact Us - Web Design Forums - Archive - Top
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC8