Old 28-06-2006, 15:23   #1 (permalink)
thomasvining
Senior Member
 
thomasvining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 379
Send a message via MSN to thomasvining Send a message via Skype™ to thomasvining
Ripped Off Site

Nothing like ripping off another persons hard work.... just found this link in our referrals, and thought I'd showcase it on their behalf:

http://www.cicma.org/tokyolike/

I guess thats one way of 'building' a site - just nick someone elses!
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 15:28   #2 (permalink)
Scott
sanddancer
 
Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South Shields
Posts: 2,998
Send a message via MSN to Scott
Haha Cunts
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 15:32   #3 (permalink)
finbarr
who the fuck am i?
 
finbarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: london
Posts: 2,686
Send a message via MSN to finbarr Send a message via Skype™ to finbarr
haha... could they have taken much more? It still says Tokyo Cube in the footer? (strike that... it says it everywhere) I hope youre going to send them a strongly worded 'fuck you' note
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 15:42   #4 (permalink)
thomasvining
Senior Member
 
thomasvining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 379
Send a message via MSN to thomasvining Send a message via Skype™ to thomasvining
Quote:
Originally Posted by finbarr
hope youre going to send them a strongly worded 'fuck you' note

yep, something along those lines already sent.

Just surprised anyone would go to that length to rip something off - they've basically downloaded our entire site and are in the process of just changing a few link and buttons here and there.... lazy, talentless $%£#ers!
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 16:04   #5 (permalink)
cam
vague™
 
cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 5,595
Always love it when people don't know about referrers.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 16:25   #6 (permalink)
bender
I'd hit it
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 371
That is just pathetic.
But I see they've got 40.000 visitors already! Oh, wait...
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 16:27   #7 (permalink)
Mik
Magazines™
 
Mik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Glasgow..
Posts: 11,886
which site did they copy?

Yours are all the same.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 16:30   #8 (permalink)
thomasvining
Senior Member
 
thomasvining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 379
Send a message via MSN to thomasvining Send a message via Skype™ to thomasvining
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Fred
which site did they copy?

Yours are all the same.

haha, good to see you still got the same issues!
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 17:16   #9 (permalink)
gray
i still want paying
 
gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: newcastle, uk
Posts: 4,842
haha

change the images to something tasteful
  Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2006, 06:04   #10 (permalink)
Dusteh
Sir digby chicken caesar
 
Dusteh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,413
Report them to their ISP, they will be shut down.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2006, 06:14   #11 (permalink)
sub
Shitcasket™
 
sub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,860
Send a message via MSN to sub Send a message via Skype™ to sub
Send them a parcel with dog poo in it.
Hanging is too good for them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Fred
Yours are all the same.
I think that's called a consistent style.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2006, 07:20   #12 (permalink)
Mik
Magazines™
 
Mik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Glasgow..
Posts: 11,886
thanks sub.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2006, 07:25   #13 (permalink)
sub
Shitcasket™
 
sub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,860
Send a message via MSN to sub Send a message via Skype™ to sub
You are welcome
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 05:50   #14 (permalink)
thomasvining
Senior Member
 
thomasvining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 379
Send a message via MSN to thomasvining Send a message via Skype™ to thomasvining
cheeky little prick's gone on to use my designs at his main URL, even after I politely asked him to remove it:

http://www.cicma.org

I've contacted the ISP who are not playing ball, and have said I'd have to pursue legal action against him.

Anyone got any suggestions?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 08:41   #15 (permalink)
bender
I'd hit it
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 371
I wouldn't worry about it.
By the look of the site it won't have many visitors.
It will die once the idiot understands it wont work.
And the engrish on the site is vary baed.

However, it does suck for you.
I don't have any suggestions on how to take them offline. Other than hacking the site.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 08:45   #16 (permalink)
bender
I'd hit it
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 371
If you could share the email address you contacted him on we could all drop him a line to persuade him to change the design.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 08:55   #17 (permalink)
cam
vague™
 
cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 5,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by bender
If you could share the email address you contacted him on we could all drop him a line to persuade him to change the design.

aye. publish his address - i'd drop him an email
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 09:21   #18 (permalink)
pat
jorge regula
 
pat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: B'ham/Leeds
Posts: 5,154
Send a message via MSN to pat
come on, gis the address. Let's scare him.

I'll be from the Corporation for Unified Name Tracing on the Internet, or CUNTI for short.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 09:32   #19 (permalink)
thomasvining
Senior Member
 
thomasvining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 379
Send a message via MSN to thomasvining Send a message via Skype™ to thomasvining
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 09:34   #20 (permalink)
thomasvining
Senior Member
 
thomasvining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 379
Send a message via MSN to thomasvining Send a message via Skype™ to thomasvining
from links that I've followed up I think this is him:

http://www.composersforum.org/member...e.cfm?oid=3047

'Company' details:

Center for International Collaborative Media Arts
2870 Holmes Ave. Apt. 308
Minneapolis
55408
US

+1.6128241816
  Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Contact Us - Web Design Forums - Archive - Top
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC8