Old 17-09-2010, 16:13   #1 (permalink)
Mandy Moo
Graphic Developer

Interview tips

I've got a really important interview next week. To put it frankly, it's my dream job. So I need to make sure I'm the best I can be on the day. I've downsized my folio to A3, bought a nice new book to present it in, work will be printed tomorrow. Pretty much all set.

Anyone have any last minute advice on questions they might ask me so I can prepare? One question that pops up everytime is the 'so tell me abit about yourself'. What do you normally go through? Previously I've mentioned I graduated with a BA(hons) in Graphic Design in 2003, a little bit about my 1st job, 2nd job and current job. The end. Is that right? Is that what they wanted to know when they ask that question?

Anymore advice?
Old 17-09-2010, 16:16   #2 (permalink)
LittleMick
忍者シ&

Be prepared for the old "What is your biggest weakness?"

It is always a hard one to get right.
Old 17-09-2010, 16:32   #3 (permalink)
jamblo
Tea Snob

And make sure that biggest weakness is actually a strength... i.e. "I am a complete perfectionist..."
Old 17-09-2010, 16:33   #4 (permalink)
Mandy Moo
Graphic Developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleMick
Be prepared for the old "What is your biggest weakness?"

It is always a hard one to get right.
Honesty? My biggest weakness is that I need a lot of mental stimulation. I've been so used to working under a lot of pressure that when I was made redundant a year and a half ago and I worked in a factory for 6 months, I couldn't cope with the lack of metal stimulation. I was so bored I got frustrated and because I didn't have to use my head so much my short term memory became poor and at night my brain would go into overdrive so I couldn't sleep. This is also the reason why I excel when working under pressure. Is that a bad one to say as a weakness?
Old 17-09-2010, 16:33   #5 (permalink)
Klang
Going out West

No, they've already read your CV. Tell them a bit about yourself.