| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
knocking heads
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,887
|
Design Theft
My site: Guava Studios Outsource Web Design Outsourcing Programming Outsource Cheeky fuckers site: now removed, problem solved! Any advice on how to stop them doing this? Last edited by stealthcow : 07-05-2008 at 04:34. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
shiro
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 1,306
|
That's pretty cheesy. Someone who was having a similar problem recently went to Godaddy (the company hosting the copied site) and made some complaints to them. It took a few days, but the site was eventually taken down. Maybe you could do a whois on their domain name and then contact their host. This is not a signature.
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
|
Or you could send a nice e-mail to good ole Greg Asher and sweetly I'm curious what you could really do about it though. While I agree it sucks, and the mooch totally copied (if not downright cut and paste) your hard work, imitation is a form of flattery, right? I'm not trying to make light of it, but I just don't know what could be done here. And it's a good question too. If you find someone who has flat out copied your work, what are your recourses? |
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Manchester/Oxford
Posts: 549
|
Not only has this guy ripped your design but I'm pretty sure the real CIMA wont be too happy with him ripping their identity: Global Homepage - CIMA |
|
|
|
#16 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Manchester/Oxford
Posts: 549
|
iplanman.com/alumni/ This site is linking all of the files and images from your website, so just change the images to some cock and balls or something like that. It's is a nice design so you can see why they are stealing it, but that's no excuse! |
|
|
|
#17 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,026
|
That's unbelievable, stealthcow. Want us all to write them stern emails? Submit the sites to YTWWN. Have you seen it before? http://youthoughtwewouldntnotice.com/blog3/ |
|
|
|
#18 (permalink) | |
|
dt immigrant
|
hahahah Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
#20 (permalink) |
|
knocking heads
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,887
|
ive now added code to my htaccess to stop all these programs - obviously it is relatively easy to bypass this if you know what you're doing, but most of the bastads who do this sort of thing are lazy so lets hope it stops some of em: Code:
|
|
![]() |