Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14-05-2012, 14:13   #1 (permalink)
seventeenfour
Grumpy Developer

Mac for web development advice

I'm soon going to be in the market for a new development machine and switching sides to Mac is an option. I don't really know too much about the Apple side of things, though I have used one or two at work in the past.

Can anyone give me some advice on what would be a good development machine? Software wise the most demanding things I see it running are Adobe Fireworks and possibly Parallels for Windows browser testing, I'm a developer rather than a designer. I'll probably run a local web server too for PHP and possibly Rails.

Other than that it probably won't be used for anything more than looking at funny cat pictures on the interwebs and of course reading this fantastic forum, but that goes without saying.

Any opinions would be appreciated.

Cheers

Thomas
Old 14-05-2012, 14:19   #2 (permalink)
d*d
Keeping Tom Happy

here we go....
Old 14-05-2012, 14:23   #3 (permalink)
teapoted
~

Have you thought about linux?
Old 14-05-2012, 14:24   #4 (permalink)
calder12

ha.

Is there really a practical reason to switch? Power wise there is very little to choose between them, they both crash, they both can get viruses. Macs are more expensive but much prettier.

If you're comfortable with Windows I honestly don't see why you would switch, the learning curve would be enough to nullify any gains you'd achieve as far as I can tell.

PS. As a developer does it really matter at all? Text editors run on anything...
Old 14-05-2012, 14:37   #5 (permalink)
emil
dt immigrant

Low end of the budget: get a mac mini.

If you want portability look at a 15 inch MBP. (there are rumours of new ones round the corner if you can wait).

You'll want to max the memory on any mac you get, but don't buy it from apple. Get it from crucial or other top brands (all my macs had samsung memory chips in them) and install it yourself. It's much cheaper that way.