Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15-12-2009, 19:35   #1 (permalink)
Alimayo

How long shoud an unpaid internship last for?

I graduated from a graphic design technical school about 3 months ago. Shortly after I graduated I obtained an internship at an event planning company. Like I said in the title the internship is unpaid. When I first started it was great because I really did learn a lot and obtained some of the best pieces so far in my fairly small portfolio. Now however i feel like the work that I am being asked to by specification of the company are not portfolio worthy.

When I first got the internship no end date was talked about and at the time I was just glad to be doing something in graphic design. I have been looking for jobs online along with other internships but so far have not gotten any takers. My portfolio is site is arangographicdesign.com if any ones to critque it.(be gentle Im new Should I stay with the unpaid internship just keep busy or should I try to move on? If so when and what should tell the company? I think my start date was Oct 10, and today is Dec 15, 2009.

Thanks in advance. I am new to the world of graphic design and have amazing respect for you guys. Thank you again for any advice or help that you can offer me.

Alimayo
Old 01-01-2010, 00:30   #2 (permalink)
reuab
epicly gino'd

I think the general rule of thumb with unpaid internships is about 3 months. All places/people I have talked to say 3 months is roughly about the timeframe of an average unpaid internship. I did an internship this year from mid July to about mid October and they wanted me to stay on board but unpaid.. even while another intern & another part time employee was being hired. I had to decline because I couldn't do it anymore financially, driving there and my schedule at school.. it was just too much. Plus, they were basically using me for free which was benefiting the company by not having to hire someone else part time.