Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13-03-2008, 07:20   #1 (permalink)
Paddy
Vive la Pirate Bay

Designer != Developer?

I've been looking at a few designer/developer recruitment sites recently and I'm beginning to notice this rather worrying phenomenon.

Has anyone else noticed the fast growing trend for prospective employers demanding that applicants have a detailed knowledge of programming technologies, front end coding, and a flair for typography, colour theory, layout and style?

At present I know my way around Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign and Quark. I have some experience with Flash and I can make a site in Dreamweaver but in order to make things do what I want I usually end up with more tables than an Ikea warehouse. Standards be damned.

As a fledgling designer, I find myself daunted by the apparent need to learn XHTML, CSS, PHP, and AJAX in depth before I am even to be considered for a job in the design world.

Does anyone else feel the same way?
Old 13-03-2008, 07:21   #2 (permalink)
Paddy
Vive la Pirate Bay

Sorry for the double post, but just look at this pile of pretentious, over ambitious twaddle. Found on Krop.

Quote:
Web sites are your thing. Visual design is your specialty. You don’t like to be labeled Web 2.0, but you can design the hell out of interactions for the web utilizing Flash or AJAX. Your roots are in graphic design and you aren’t afraid to push the boundaries. Creative Suite may be your weapon of choice, but the tools are transparent and your ideas shine through.

You must be detail oriented and expect the most from yourself and others. Good enough just isn’t. You have a strong typographic sensibility and understand how to tie type and imagery together into a structured concept. Color. Composition. Brand identity.

Your work breathes. You produce the unexpected.
Old 13-03-2008, 08:12   #3 (permalink)
Bishop
Eating out.

Interesting read!