Old 16-10-2005, 23:12   #1 (permalink)
seen.to
unusual suspect ™
 
seen.to's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: DE, USA
Posts: 2,710
Beware the appraisal scam!

I received an e-mail yesterday from someone saying they were interested in one of my domains. After a couple of e-mails either way they agreed to buy the domain for $10,000. I was real excited about this... we are moving soon and this would have taken care of all the expenses with enough left to buy a new tv.

The 'buyer' then mailed me saying that he'd need an independent appraisal and pointed me towards a supposed forum thread where he'd previously sought advice on this. The fake thread looks like this: http://domaintalk.ourplace.com/Archive/29016.htm

I ever-so-briefly considered getting the suggested appraisal... after all I could be in to make a decent profit here.

But things weren't ringing true. Why such a cheap name for this supposed domaintalk archive, why only an archive, why no links within the page to other archived threads or to the forums home page etc... A little more research and I found that this is a repetetive scam where they change the fake forum thread id, change their e-mail address and name but keep pretty much everything else the same.

So beware anyone that e-mails you offering to buy your domain and requiring that you first obtain an 'independant' appraisal. Chances are it's the same people and chances are that they own the appraisal sites.

The appraisal sites they suggested are alldomains.com and greatdomains.com
so if you are ever looking for a domain appraisal even without having received one of these bogus e-mails I'd suggest steering well clear of these sites.

Finally, on the fake forum, they suggest allfordomains.com, a site which has a specific heading for scams where you can read about scams... ooh, (thinks the un-educated user), I can check to make sure that this offer is not a scam... Sure you can - if you want to pay the scammer himself $59 to sign up for a month!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2005, 01:02   #2 (permalink)
pgo
i'm done, son
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12,262
Bah. Sleazy shits.

Out of curiousity, what was the domain he wanted to buy?
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2005, 06:13   #3 (permalink)
seen.to
unusual suspect ™
 
seen.to's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: DE, USA
Posts: 2,710
Shits indeed mate.

The name is www.jumble.us
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2005, 16:33   #4 (permalink)
lyndon
Venti Macchiato
 
lyndon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,156
Send a message via Skype™ to lyndon
I'll appraise it for £50
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2005, 17:28   #5 (permalink)
roto
This is it - ground zero.
 
roto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Paper St.
Posts: 4,200
Send a message via AIM to roto Send a message via Yahoo to roto
What ever were you going to do with jumble.us? Take the £50 and run.
__________________
fun: HGC v.4 | last.fm: DT | me | oi! f*ck u roto: ...via meebo!

New to interweb design? Your friends at dt can help.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2005, 17:54   #6 (permalink)
gray
i still want paying
 
gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: newcastle, uk
Posts: 4,728
it means he has to pay £50, not earn it

still a good deal, take it
  Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2005, 08:00   #7 (permalink)
Stickman
Dr. Lucien Sanchez
 
Stickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 5,628
Giving people £50 would be a pretty crap scam.
  Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Contact Us - Web Design Forums - Archive - Top
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC8