Landing Pages

shoog2017
shoog2017
A project is on my to do list to create a landing page with comments functionality that will be linked to a large city website that is created with Drupal. I'm mainly a graphic designer but I do have some front end development experience (mainly html, css and dreamweaver). If my goal was to create a custom, usable and well-designed one page scrolling landing, what would be my best strategy in terms of development? The page can be stand-alone per specs. The key here is the comments functionality. Is my best bet designing the page to be developed in drupal or would a basic dreamweaver page also work well? Any advice appreciated.

Comments

• calder12
    calder12
    Senior Member Posts: 13,484
    If all you're doing is gathering and displaying comments any CMS is overkill, and honestly particularly Drupal. It is way overpowered for that job.

A simple page hooked up to a database via PHP is probably your best bet here. The functionality to save the comments, retrieve them and display them would likely be under 100 lines of code for a single page app, not including the HTML.
  • handcraftedweb
    handcraftedweb
    thought leader Left coastPosts: 6,796
    Use disqus for the comment section. It's easy and disqus already has a billion users and they won't have to go through a sign-up process. You give up a lot of control to disqus but that's not necessarily bad.

For a single page that can be "stand-alone", I would just hand code HTML or use a static site generator.
  • calder12
    calder12
    ^^ This. I didn't realize Disqus could be used on non WordPress sites.
  • concreteflower
    concreteflower
    I'd use Sitecake, it's perfect for simple pages. Check it out
  • cybernext
    cybernext
    CyberNext Posts: 8
    Drupal provides rich features for commenting. Visit https://www.drupal.org/docs/7/comments for details..
  • calder12
    calder12
    cybernext wrote: »