More laravel help :(

Derek Smalls
Derek Smalls
Eat shit!NewcastlePosts: 2,508 edited March 5 in Web Development
I am fairly new to laravel and I'm trying to build an 'add to basket' script. It consists of 3 tables.

- basket - id, session_id
- basket_product - id, basket_id, product_id
- basket_options - id, basket_id, product_id, basket_product_id, opt_val, opt_name

Basically I am trying to insert to all 3 tables when adding a product to basket:

- Firstly it inserts the current session id to 'basket'
- Then inserts the product_id & basket_id to basket_product
- Then inserts the options & IDs to basket_options where basket_product_id = basket_products.id

The reason for the basket_products having an id and using it in the basket_options table is because the same product_id may be in there several times if someone wants to buy the same item but with different options attached

I have tried using basket_product as a pivot table and doing
[php]
$Basket = Basket::find($basket_id);
$Basket->options()->attach($input['product_id']);
[/php] (what happened to code tags?)

But to then run the next part (inserting options) I need to have the id of the pivot table

My question is a) how would I get that ID b) is there a better way of doing this all round?

Comments

• calder12
    calder12
    Senior Member Posts: 13,496 edited March 5
    PHP tags are no more, you have to just use actual code tags.

Is the accepted answer here what you're looking for? http://stackoverflow.com/questions/21084833/laravel-get-last-insert-id-using-eloquent
  • Derek Smalls
    Derek Smalls
    Eat shit! NewcastlePosts: 2,508
    Unfortunately no. I found that worked ok for normal inserts but not with attach on a pivot table.
  • Derek Smalls
    Derek Smalls
    Eat shit! NewcastlePosts: 2,508