learning laravel

Derek Smalls
Derek Smalls
Eat shit!NewcastlePosts: 2,508 in Web Development
I recently started learning laravel and I'm building a little project to try it out 'real world'.

So, I have a view split with some @includes e.g. main.blade.php which includes sidenav.blade.php, header.php etc..

I have created a "Product" model + controller and DB migration and added a few products in the database.

My understanding was that I would then be able to have a function in the Product model that queries the DB and returns all products which I can then use anywhere on the site e.g. On products page I might want to list all products, or in my current case i want to list all product names in the sidenav.blade.php file.

This is where I am running into trouble. The closest I got was to:
  • @yield('productlist') in sidenav
  • create a new view called 'products/index.blade.php' and in there extend sidenav.blade.php
  • put the foreach product loop in there as @section('productlist')
  • Create a Route::get('product', 'ProductController@index') where I see the complete combined files all working as expected

But when i visit a normal page (which is including sidenav) it doesn't recognise the products variable

Is this just completely the wrong way to do this sort of thing? Or am I actually getting close?

Comments

• calder12
    calder12
    Senior Member Posts: 13,484 edited February 24
    MVC is where you're running into issues I think.

Models do database actions, they should not (can not) feed views directly.
    Controllers act as a middle ground between views and models
    Views are well views.

I haven't written anything in Laravel in forever, but basically you create the function in your model to return your data. Then in whatever view you need that data in you make a call in that view's controller to populate a variable with that data, then pass that data to the view's render function.

Does that help at all?
  • Derek Smalls
    Derek Smalls