Review, Opinions about a website

Spilbone
Spilbone
edited July 2016 in Web Design
Hi,

First of all let me be clear, I am a beginner, it is just my hobby. I am currently making a redesign of one of my acquaintance's website.

This website is about a brickworks company, they sell bricks and these kind of stuffs.

This website is still offline so I just want to show you an image:
website_new.png

The printscreen contains an error of the extension I used(under the picture of the building, they gray part looks like it is duplicated but it is not).

My questions would be:
Does it look like a theme?
How would you make it more unique?
What would you change?

I am looking forward to all your opinions and reviews and thank you for your comments.

Martin

Comments

• handcraftedweb
    handcraftedweb
    thought leader Left coastPosts: 6,733 edited July 2016
    Yes it looks like a relatively generic theme but that's not necessarily bad for a brickworks company. I wouldn't even worry about being unique.

The theme and styles should be driven by content. If you suspect content is being compromised by the theme then you're going down the wrong path.

As a beginner, you have limited options. Don't be afraid of plain and generic. Be guided by content and clarity.

It looks like you have good art to work with, so feature that, don't get in the way of it (the heavy backgrounds distract).
  • Spilbone
    Spilbone
    Thank you so much for your comment! I'll take your advice.
  • Limbo
    Limbo
    Established Norm Posts: 27,294 edited July 2016
    ---
    Quote HCW:
    Yes it looks like a relatively generic theme but that's not necessarily bad for a brickworks company. I wouldn't even worry about being unique.
    ---

This is terrible advice. Scourge of our industry is the slow decay of original thought. No company benefits from being mundane. And a brick works is a great project.

Clarity of message and putting content first does not mean you have to be 'plain and generic'.