Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-06-2012, 18:25   #1 (permalink)
dsgnr
Kraftwerker

Send a message via Skype™ to dsgnr
Limited company or sole trader?

Hi everyone, after a bit of advise as I am completely new to this sorta side of things. Here goes...

I work full time at a printers, I get paid via PAYE.

I have been doing websites on the site for a little while, just little jobs for friends/family but now it's coming to the point where I'm getting fairly regular work and I have monthly maintenance contracts about to start on these new jobs so I'll have a constant income every month.

I have been looking on the net about how to go registering as a business as I dont want to get done over by the tax man. I don't know whether to register as a sole trader or as a limited company. I don't expect to earn more than my day job but I still need to register and be taxed properly if I'm gonna be a good boy!

What are the benefits of being a sole trader over a limited company and visa versa. And how do I go about paying myself a wage and taxing myself etc.

Also, is it worth registering for VAT? I know you can claim things back on things bought through the company but is it necessary as I'm not gooing to be invoicing much!

How do I go about banking? Do I need to set up a new business account or can I just have transactions going into my personal account as it has been so far?

Would appreciate any advise as I don't want to get this wrong!

Hopefully this will help others in the same position! Thanks in advance
Old 28-06-2012, 19:27   #2 (permalink)
moz
☆!@?$ζ☆

Probably best to go sole trader to begin with, you can do your accounting yourself - limited companies need proper accounts from a registered accountant.

Sole trader - take a wage this month, don't take a wage this month - its up to you. Pay yourself 50 this week, pay yourself 1000 next week - again its up to you. It doesn't matter as long as you pay tax etc on your earnings.