Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2009, 00:34   #1 (permalink)
destinite

Noob ? about web design/hosting

Hello all, noob here.

I have a side business that I run during evenings. I usually only do about 5-6 jobs a year, and most of them revolve around business cards, logos, letterhead, maybe the occasional catalog, etc. I did a website for someone just because they wanted it and insisted I give it a shot. I didn't go to school for web design, I'm pretty much self-taught in HTML, CSS and Flash, but he loved it.

Ever since then I've done maybe 1-2 websites a year. Since most of my side work is done after I get home from work and late at night, my correspondence is usually only via e-mail - I'll send rough ideas as jpg files to the customer, they tell me what they like and don't like, we go back and forth 3-4 times and go from there. As I'm working on the actual site, I host it on my own web space so that they can actually go online and see it as it's taking form and can add their input. I've only had a few customers ask me for web designs, but all of them have been completely satisfied, so I figure maybe I could inquire the experts (you guys) about a couple of things before I actually go and PROMOTE myself as a web designer:

My web customers have always had their own hosting and domain - I would either zip the website and e-mail it to them or have them give me their ftp/login/pass and I would upload myself. I have a customer now who seems to know nothing about having a domain or hosting - I don't provide this. Is it common for a simple designer to offer hosting and domain services, or do they usually do just that - design? I'd appreciate hearing your stories and how you do things - it would help me greatly. Thanks in advance!
Old 06-11-2009, 09:08   #2 (permalink)
Maerk
Doodler.