Yesterday I received a somewhat pissy e-mail from someone who claims they owned a domain name I recently purchased. This e-mail was not SPAM and was from an actual living, breathing, human. It is as follows (the XXXXXXX's are to protect the innocent and are not needed for the sake of this post):
Attention XXXXXXXXXXXXX
I noticed that you currently are using the name XXXXXXX.net.
I am the registered Trademark owner of the name XXXXXXX (:::cough::: bullshit) and am also the registered owner of XXXXXXX.com. I was previously the owner of XXXXXXX.net but, it expired earlier this year and was not renewed by my IT people. (:::cough::: bullshit)
I would appreciate it if you would release the name back to me which is where it has been for the past eight years.
Please respond.
Sincerely,
Ian S. XXXXXX
----------------------------------
In a nutshell, I told this guy to fuck off. But, I must ask my friends here at DT...what do you think? You think I'm going to be sued? Does this guy have any legal recourse since I purchased the URL from an ICANN accredited company? etc? etc?
Please excuse the (:::cough::: bullshit)s I added to the letter as I was only commenting on my thoughts of his "IT people" and him saying he's the "registered Trademark owner of the name XXXXXXX"...
__________________